17 April 2014, Thursday
Today's Zaman

Malatya Governor Saran appointed public security undersecretary

3 August 2012, Friday /TODAY’S ZAMAN
Malatya Governor Mehmet Ulvi Saran, an associate professor, has been appointed undersecretary of public security and order, according to a Cabinet decree on newly appointed governors announced on Thursday.

The Undersecretariat of Public Security and Order was established in 2010 with the aim of coordinating the work of state institutions responsible for security. The bill on the undersecretariat was passed in Parliament in February 2010 and was approved by President Abdullah Gül, starting a new era in counterterrorism efforts. The General Staff was previously the sole authority combating terrorism, but with the establishment of the undersecretariat, counterterrorism efforts will now be coordinated by a civilian authority. The agency was created as part of the government’s democratic initiative, launched last year to settle Turkey’s long-standing Kurdish issue.

According to the decree, new governors were appointed to 29 provinces and 11 governors were recalled to Ankara. No explanation was made for the recall.

The suspended governors include Kilis Governor Yusuf Odabaş, Ardahan Governor Mustafa Tekmen, Karaman Govenror Süleyman Kahraman, Kars Governor Ahmet Kara, Kayseri Governor Mevlüt Bilici, Adıyaman Governor Ramazan Sodan, Iğdır Governor Amir Çiçek, Siirt Governor Musa Çolak, Yozgat Governor Necati Şentürk, Edirne Governor Gökhan Sözer and Bartın Governor İsa Küçük.

The new governors of other provinces are as follows: Edirne Governor Hasan Duruer, Kırklareli Governor Mustafa Yaman, Adıyaman Governor Mahmut Demirtaş, Ağrı Governor  Mehmet Tekinaslan, Aksaray Governor Selami Altınok, Ardahan Governor Seyfettin Azizoğlu, Balıkesir Governor Ahmet Turhan, Batman Governor Yılmaz Arslan, Bitlis Governor Veysel Yurdakul, Burdur Governor Nurettin Yılmaz, Çorum Governor Sabri Başköy, Düzce Governor Adnan Yılmaz, Iğdır Governor Ahmet Pek, Karaman Governor Murat Koca, Kars Governor Eyüp Tepe, Kayseri Governor Şerif Yılmaz, Kırıkkale Governor Ali Kolat, Kırşehir Governor Özdemir Çakacak, Kilis Governor Süleyman Tapsız, Malatya Governor Vasip Şahin, Rize Governor Nurullah Çakır, Sivas Governor Zübeyir Kemelek, Tekirdağ Governor Ali Yerlikaya and Tokat Governor Mustafa Taşkesen.

NATIONAL  Other Titles
Chief ombudsman laments low implementation of KDK recommendations
'Banning social media disaster for any government's global image'
Nana Zeyini dies at age of 120
Turkey's Gül says candidacy in presidential election not yet settled
92,000 die of cancer each year in Turkey
Ministerial bureaucrats purged after being profiled by MİT
Purges in police force leading to higher crime rate
Four-year-old dies after being found with slit throat, wrist
Report: Naval command allegedly profiles personnel
PM avoids suing critics of corruption out of fear ‘truth may come out'
Armenian Akdamar church restoration nears completion
Ruling AK Party to determine presidential candidate toward end of May
Probe launched into Afyonkarahisar explosion on suspicion of terrorism
Legal complaint issued over Mazhar Bağlı’s hate speech
American journalism school offers free online training in Turkish
AK Party deputies pass MİT law article-by-article despite warnings
AK Party government punishing reassigned police officers
Commemorations for former President Özal, supporter of Turkish schools abroad
Gag order on case file in Yazıcıoğlu's death lifted
Erdoğan threatens judges, prosecutors in party group speech
Opposition leaders say PM turning Turkey into intelligence state
Opposition CHP leader likens Erdoğan to Hitler, Mussolini
Nearly 90 police officials purged in southeast Turkey
Nearly 280 police officers reassigned in four provinces
Twitter executives meet with Turkey's President Gül