Malatya Governor Saran appointed public security undersecretary

August 03, 2012, Friday/ 17:44:00/ TODAY'S ZAMAN

Malatya Governor Mehmet Ulvi Saran, an associate professor, has been appointed undersecretary of public security and order, according to a Cabinet decree on newly appointed governors announced on Thursday.

The Undersecretariat of Public Security and Order was established in 2010 with the aim of coordinating the work of state institutions responsible for security. The bill on the undersecretariat was passed in Parliament in February 2010 and was approved by President Abdullah Gül, starting a new era in counterterrorism efforts. The General Staff was previously the sole authority combating terrorism, but with the establishment of the undersecretariat, counterterrorism efforts will now be coordinated by a civilian authority. The agency was created as part of the government’s democratic initiative, launched last year to settle Turkey’s long-standing Kurdish issue.

According to the decree, new governors were appointed to 29 provinces and 11 governors were recalled to Ankara. No explanation was made for the recall.

The suspended governors include Kilis Governor Yusuf Odabaş, Ardahan Governor Mustafa Tekmen, Karaman Govenror Süleyman Kahraman, Kars Governor Ahmet Kara, Kayseri Governor Mevlüt Bilici, Adıyaman Governor Ramazan Sodan, Iğdır Governor Amir Çiçek, Siirt Governor Musa Çolak, Yozgat Governor Necati Şentürk, Edirne Governor Gökhan Sözer and Bartın Governor İsa Küçük.

The new governors of other provinces are as follows: Edirne Governor Hasan Duruer, Kırklareli Governor Mustafa Yaman, Adıyaman Governor Mahmut Demirtaş, Ağrı Governor  Mehmet Tekinaslan, Aksaray Governor Selami Altınok, Ardahan Governor Seyfettin Azizoğlu, Balıkesir Governor Ahmet Turhan, Batman Governor Yılmaz Arslan, Bitlis Governor Veysel Yurdakul, Burdur Governor Nurettin Yılmaz, Çorum Governor Sabri Başköy, Düzce Governor Adnan Yılmaz, Iğdır Governor Ahmet Pek, Karaman Governor Murat Koca, Kars Governor Eyüp Tepe, Kayseri Governor Şerif Yılmaz, Kırıkkale Governor Ali Kolat, Kırşehir Governor Özdemir Çakacak, Kilis Governor Süleyman Tapsız, Malatya Governor Vasip Şahin, Rize Governor Nurullah Çakır, Sivas Governor Zübeyir Kemelek, Tekirdağ Governor Ali Yerlikaya and Tokat Governor Mustafa Taşkesen.

Other Titles
Click For More News